This is the "Overview" page of the "Child Abuse: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Child Abuse: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: child_welfare, college_library, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/child_abuse Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide is an introduction to sources of information about child abuse. Child abuse can be physical or emotional harm caused to children by their parents or guardians.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Child Welfare Information Gateway  
    Rating
    This Child Welfare Information Gateway, a service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides access to information and resources to help protect children.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • MedlinePlus: Child Abuse  
    Rating
    A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, Medline provides authoritative information on treatments, prevention, research, organizations, law and policy, and statistics related to child abuse.
  • Minnesota Center Against Violence and Abuse  
    Rating
    Articles, fact sheets and Web links on child abuse from the University of Minnesota.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • The Children's Bureau  
    Rating
    The Children's Bureau, part of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, is the oldest federal agency for children.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip