Last Updated: Nov 23, 2014
or click for more options ...
This Research Guide focuses on chemical and biological weapons in the late 20th and 21st centuries. Issues include: bioterrorism and security; weapons inspection; use of these weapons during war; treaties and disarmament; and emergency preparation and response.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Emergency Preparedness & Response
This site contains facts about specific chemical and biological agents, as well as information for civilians and professionals on health and vaccines, safety and emergency response. Includes links, articles, and reports.
- Chemical & Biological Weapons Resource Page
Annotated directory of resources, maintained by Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS), Monterey Institute of International Studies.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- MEDLINEplus Health Information: Biodefense and Bioterrorism
High-quality information about biological weapons, including anthrax, botulism, mustard gas, plague, smallpox, and tularemia. Also includes news and general resources about bioterrorism.
- MedlinePlus: Chemical Emergencies
High-quality information about chemical weapon and other chemical hazard health issues, including latest news, overviews, specific conditions, and related links. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- U.S. Department of State - Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation
This site contains information about the nonproliferation strategies and actions of the United States government. Includes documents, legislation and press releases.