Violence: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Video Games
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- International Center for the History of Electronic GamesThe Strong’s International Center for the History of Electronic Games® (ICHEG) collects, studies, and interprets video games, other electronic games, and related materials and the ways in which electronic games are changing how people play, learn, and connect with each other, including across boundaries of culture and geography.
- Video Game History FoundationThe Video Game History Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to cataloging, digitizing, and preserving the history of video games.
About Video Games
This guide provides information about all things video games, including video game history, video game production, and social issues related to video games.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: video game*, video games and design, video games and history, video gamer, video game* and social aspects, video games and children, computer game*, violence and video games, video games industry
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- PBS: The Video Game RevolutionFollow the journey of video games from university laboratories to our living rooms.
Books
Video Games and American Culture : How Ideology Influences Virtual Worlds by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781793601308Publication Date: 2019-12-12
Console Wars: Sega, Nintendo, and the Battle that Defined a Generation by ISBN: 9780062276698Publication Date: 2014-05-13
The Golden Age of Video Games: The Birth of a Multi-Billion Dollar Industry by ISBN: 9781439873236Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Beyond Barbie and Mortal Kombat: New Perspectives on Gender and Gaming by ISBN: 9780262113199Publication Date: 2008-09-19
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycInfoThis includes articles in the field of psychology as well as about the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCMMC covers more than 700 journal titles and includes full text for over 400 journals.
Statistics
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
Videos
- Indie Game: The MovieIndie Game: The Movie' is a 2012 documentary film by Canadian filmmakers James Swirsky and Lisanne Pajot. The film documents the struggles of independent game developers Edmund McMillen and Tommy Refenes during the development of Super Meat Boy, Phil Fish during the development of Fez, and also Jonathan Blow, who reflects on the success of Braid.
- GTFOSparked by a public display of sexual harassment in 2012, GTFO pries open the video game world to explore a 20 billion dollar industry that is riddled with discrimination and misogyny. In recent years, the gaming community has grown more diverse than ever. This has led to a massive clash of values and women receive the brunt of the consequences every day, with acts of harassment ranging from name calling to cyber vandalism and death threats. Through interviews with video game developers, journalists, and academics, GTFO paints a complex picture of the video game industry, while revealing the systemic and human motivations behind acts of harassment.