The Economy: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Minimum Wage/Living Wage
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Center on Wisconsin Strategy (COWS)Based at UW-Madison, COWS is a nationally focused think tank with a mission to "treat shared growth and opportunity, environmental sustainability, and resilient democratic institutions as necessary and achievable complements in human development."
- Economic Policy Institute (EPI)"EPI is an independent, nonprofit think tank that researches the impact of economic trends and policies on working people in the United States."
- Political Economy Research Institute (PERI)Based at the University of Massachusetts - Amherst, PERI "promotes human and ecological well-being through our original research." Look under the "Research Areas" tab and choose "Labor Markets, Wages & Poverty" for their research on minimum/living wages.
- National Employment Law Project (NELP)NELP works to "expand access to work and strengthen protections and support for low-wage workers and the unemployed."
- UC Berkeley Labor CenterThe UC Berkeley Labor Center "conducts research and education on issues related to labor and employment."
About Minimum Wage/Living Wage
This Research Guide focuses on minimum wage in the United States. Issues covered include legislation, poverty, the living wage movement and the case against minimum wage laws.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: "minimum wage" AND employment, "minimum wage" AND legislation, "minimum wage" AND economics, "living wage" AND welfare, "living wage" AND poverty, "minimum wage" AND "standard of living," "minimum wage" AND Wisconsin
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Economic Policy Institute"The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions." Click on the Resources tab to find articles, statistics and links.
- U.S. Department of LaborInformation on minimum wage regulations is found in several sections of this site. Click on Wages under the Popular Topics dropdown and navigate to the Minimum Wage subtopic. Additionally, click the Bureau of Labor Statistics link under the Agencies dropdown to get to the website of the BLS, which offers many reports and statistics under Pay & Benefits from the Home dropdown.
Books
The Economics of Human Rights: Using the living income/fair price approach to combat poverty by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783030591656Publication Date: 2021-01-06
The Fight for Fifteen: The Right Wage for a Working America by ISBN: 9781620971130Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Fair Trade from the Ground Up: New Markets for Social Justice by ISBN: 9780295991726Publication Date: 2012-06-27
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PAIS InternationalPublic Affairs Information Service covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- SocINDEXIncludes full text for a variety of journals and books encompassing all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
- EconLitEconLit indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly English language journals, dissertations, working papers, and books in the field of economics.
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis tool is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.