Addiction: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Internet/Tech Addiction
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Illinois Institute for Addiction RecoveryAn organization that provides services for a wide range of substance addictions and other compulsive behaviors.
- The Center for Internet and Technology AddictionThe Center for Internet and Technology Addiction (CITA) has treated patients from every corner of the US regarding issues of video game, porn, and tech dependency and abuse.
- reSTART LifeAn organization committed to sustainable digital media use for people and the planet, with services for children to adults who are dealing with technology, Internet, and video game addictions.
About Internet/Tech Addiction
This research guide provides resources with information about Internet and technology addiction.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: internet addiction, internet AND psychological aspects, internet AND social aspects, internet AND utilization, information technology AND social aspects, communication and technology, technology AND social aspects, technology AND psychological aspects, video game addiction, attitude to computers
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Internet Addiction GuideA resource from PsychCentral for objective, useful information about Internet addiction, a theorized disorder.
- Can You be Addicted to the Internet?The American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness, including substance use disorders.
- Technology Addiction 101From Addiction.com, background information about technology addiction, its warning signs and effects.
- What Does it Mean to Have Technology/Video Game Addiction?From Healthline.com, an article describing Internet, technology, and video game addiction and/or compulsive behavior.
Books
The Technological Addictions by Call Number: RC569.5.I54 T43 2022ISBN: 9781615372935Publication Date: 2021-07-08
Overcoming Internet Addiction for Dummies by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781119711896Publication Date: 2021-08-11
Digital Detox: the politics of disconnecting by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781787693418Publication Date: 2020-03-30
The Oxford Handbook of Digital Technologies and Mental Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780190218058Publication Date: 2020-10-01
How to Raise a Healthy Gamer by Call Number: HQ784.V53 K36 2024ISBN: 9781035025893Publication Date: 2024
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncludes articles on communication and media topics.
- PsycInfoInformation about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Statistics
Videos
- Digital NationIn Digital Nation: Life on the Virtual Frontier, FRONTLINE presents an in-depth exploration of what it means to be human in a 21st-century digital world.