Addiction: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Gambling
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Gamblers AnonymousFormed in 1957, "Gamblers Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from a gambling problem."
- American Gaming AssociationThe American Gaming Association was founded in 1995 in Washington D.C. There goal is to engage in "creating a better understanding of the gaming entertainment industry by bringing facts about the industry to the general public, elected officials, other decision makers and the media through education and advocacy.
- National Center for Responsible GamingLocated in Washington D.C., "The National Center for Responsible Gaming (NCRG) was founded in 1996 as the first national organization devoted exclusively to funding independent, peer-reviewed scientific research on pathological and youth gambling." Browse their "Press Room" or "Research Center" to find journal articles and research reports.
- National Council on Problem Gaming"The mission of the National Council on Problem Gambling is to increase public awareness of pathological gambling, ensure the widespread availability of treatment for problem gamblers and their families, and to encourage research and programs for prevention and education."
- National Indian Gaming Association"The National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA), established in 1985, is a non-profit organization of 168 Indian Nations with other non-voting associate members representing organizations, tribes and businesses engaged in tribal gaming enterprises from around the country."
- North American Association of State and Provincial LotteriesThe North American Association of State and Provincial Lotteries was founded in 1971. Its mission is "to assemble and disseminate information and benefits of state and provincial lottery organizations through education and communications and where appropriate publicly advocate the positions of the Association on matters of general policy."
About Gambling
This guide focuses on gambling (gaming) in the United States and related psychological, social, and economic issues for both individuals and society.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: gambler* and psychology, gambling industry, gambling and "economic aspects", sport* betting, casino* and "united states", gambling and "native americans", gambling history, gambling addiction*, compulsive gambler*, pathological gambl*, online gambling, gambling and virtual reality, gambling and the metaverse, gambling and video games
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Gaming Research Research GuidesProvided by the Gaming Studies Research Center (University of Nevada-Las Vegas), these Research Guides offer summaries of gambling topics such as "Gaming History" and "Problem Gambling", as well as print and electronic bibliographies.
Books
All In: The Spread of Gambling in Twentieth- Century United StatesCall Number: HV6715 .A485 2018 or ebookISBN: 9781943859603Publication Date: 2018-03-30
Gangsters to Governors : The New Bosses of Gambling in AmericaCall Number: ebookISBN: 0813584566Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Addiction by Design : Machine Gambling in Las Vegas by Call Number: HV6721 L3 S38 2012 or ebookISBN: 0691127557Publication Date: 2012-09-09
The New Politics of Indian Gaming: The Rise of Reservation Interest GroupsCall Number: E98 G18 N48 2011 or ebookISBN: 9780874178425Publication Date: 2011-03-28
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycINFOThis includes a million citations in the field of psychology and also information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- ProQuest One BusinessThe database covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate.
- SocINDEXSocINDEX full text encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
- SPORTDiscusThe SPORTDiscus with Full Text database covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation; exercise physiology; sports medicine; coaching; physical fitness; the psychology, history, and sociology of sport; training; and conditioning.
Statistics and Data
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis tool is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.