Chican@ & Latinx Topics : Audio/Visual
Video Databases
Moving Image Archive
This is Internet Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Broad subject coverage includes: art, music, news, science, sports, cartoons, animation, advertising, trade films and many other genres. Video coverage include Chicanx and Latinx related topics.
Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is a extensive and comprehensive archive of television news. This resource provides descriptive summaries of over 30,000 television news programs collected in the Vanderbilt Archive since August, 1968, searchable through the TV-NewsSearch database. The Archive includes programs from ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN. CNN programs can be viewed online. Coverage includes news archives on Chicanx and Latinx issues including social, economic, and political topics.
Finding Audio
Mills Music Library Audio Facility
Access to sound recordings in LP, CD, and cassette formats, and most audiovisual and multimedia materials. Audio Facility materials can be searched online through the library catalog. Mills Music Library has playback equipment available for LPs, CDs, DVDs, and both audio- and video-cassettes. Users who wish to listen to a recording or view a video should request the item(s) by call number at the Audio Facility Desk. Collections include Latinx music and sound recordings.
Smithsonian Global Sound
A database offering streaming music over the internet on demand. The collection ranges from blues to children’s songs, American folk to spoken word and sounds, and is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes song recordings on the Chicano Movement. The database categorizes Hispanics as a cultural group.
Selected Videos
- Harvest of empire : the untold story of Latinos in AmericaCall Number: E184 S75 H37 2012Looks at the role U.S. military actions and corporate interests played in triggering unprecedented waves of migration from Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America.
- The Whole EnchiladaCall Number: Electronic ResourceDetails how Latino population growth has resulted in acute growing pains: conservative commentators complaining about undocumented Latinos taking jobs; an increase in hate crimes against Latinos, and young Hispanics joining gangs.
- Visiones Latino Art and Culture by Directed by Hector GalanCall Number: N6538 H58 V5 2004Captures the rich cultural and artistic expressions of Latinos in the United States.
- Los Four Murals of Aztlán : the street painters of East Los Angeles by Jim TartanCall Number: PN1997 L730 2004(Two documentaries) Los Four is about the first exhibition of Chicano artists held at a major art museum in 1974. Murals of Aztlán is about another exhibition of the same name in 1981.
- Chicano Park by Directed by Marilyn MulfordCall Number: PN1997 C426 1988Under the San Diego-Coronado Bay Bridge is Chicano Park and its murals. This is the story of its creation and a history of the community.