Mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) : Additional Numeric/Statistical Data Resources

Census of Agriculture (US)
Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States. Visit the Charts and Maps section for specific geographic data needs.

Data.Census.gov
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Data Axle (Formerly InfoUSA) (UW Library Licensed Database)
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, Data Axle Reference Solutions contains directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.

DataPlanet (UW Library Licensed Database)
Provides simple and refined searching of the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data, and others. Datasets include public-domain and licensed information. Users can search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. All of the data are drawn from authoritative sources (including the International Monetary Fund) and are citable. The product provides high-level summary information as well as detailed line item views. (Dates vary, updated continuously)

International Historical GIS (IHGIS) International Census Data
The International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files. Data from diverse published documents are provided in a standardized, ready-to-use structure with thorough, consistently formatted metadata.

National Historical GIS (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Social Explorer (UW Library Licensed Database)
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. It creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Included are over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data. Of special interest are the the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) (Updated continuously)

International Monetary Fund
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
 

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development Stats
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
 

United Nations Data Portal
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
 

World Bank Data Portal
World Bank helps developing countries find solutions to the toughest global and local development challenges—from adapting to climate change to boosting food security to increasing access to energy.