Children's & Young Adult Literature and Resources : Book Reviews & Lists
Featured books
Excellent Books for Early and Eager Readers by
ISBN: 9780838913444Publication Date: 2015-12-19For children, reading level and experience level are not always the same. Eager readers are often interested in ideas and topics that seem advanced, but situations and subjects that sixth graders can handle with aplomb may be emotionally confusing for a younger child. Early and eager readers deserve stories they can get into, information that's challenging and up-to-date, and ideas that are new and stimulating, all while remaining age appropriate. Here, children's lit expert Isaacs offers 300 book recommendations for early able readers ages 4-10, honing in on writing that will challenge but not frustrate young readers.LGBTQ Young Adult Fiction by
ISBN: 9781476628950Publication Date: 2017-06-18Young adult literature featuring teenage lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning characters is fast growing in popularity. Unlike the "problem novels" of the past, which focused on the guilt, bullying and isolation of LGBTQ characters, today's narratives present more sympathetic and celebratory portrayals. The author explores a selection of recent novels--many of which may be new to readers--and places them in the wider contexts of LGBTQ literature and history. Chapters discuss a range of topics, including the relationship of Queer Theory to literature, LGBTQ families, and recent trends in utopian and dystopian science fiction.Rainbow Family Collections by
ISBN: 9781598849608Publication Date: 2012-04-13This book examines and suggests picture books and chapter books presenting LGBTQ content to children under the age of 12. Highlighting titles for children from infancy to age 11, Rainbow Family Collections examines over 250 children's picture books, informational books, and chapter books with LGBTQ content from around the world. Each entry in Rainbow Family Collections supplies a synopsis of the title's content, lists awards it has received, cites professional reviews, and provides suggestions for librarians considering acquisition.
Book reviews & lists
These books, databases, and web resources include book reviews and/or book lists to guide collection development and reader's advisory.
NOTE: Sites such as Amazon, GoodReads, and LibraryThing are not recommended sources for book reviews or lists. Do not use them for classwork at the iSchool unless otherwise specified by your instructor. Reviews and book lists made on these sites were likely not created by individuals with a background in information science and may be especially prone to bias.
Databases
These databases feature book reviews, lists, and other features to assist with collection development and reader's advisory.
Guide - Finding Book Reviews in UW-Madison Databases was created to provide instructions on how to find book reviews within select databases and journals available through UW-Madison Libraries. Use the interactive Table of Contents to navigate through the guide.
- Book Review Digest PlusThis database provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals and popular magazines. Includes extensive coverage of books for children and teens.
- Books in PrintBooks In Print is a bibliographic database that also features reviews from leading English-language sources, including Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and School Library Journal; as well as tables of contents, full-text previews, cover images, author biographies, awards information, and annotations.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseCLCD is a database of more than 50,000 reviews of children's and young adult literature titles from education and library review journals such as Appraisal, ALAN Review, Five Owls, Kirkus, Kliatt, VOYA, and others. CLCD also includes the annotated entries from CCBC Choices for 1996 to the present.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full TextThis database includes full-text, indexing and abstracts for journals covering subjects related to librarianship, classification and cataloging.
- NoveListThis database is a resource for assisting fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It includes information on more than 150,000 titles, including authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews, discussion guides, and feature articles. It also features theme-oriented booklists, award lists, and links to fiction-related web sites.
Novelist tutorial and guide
This narrated video tutorial covers the following features of the NoveList database:
- Finding books similar to a specific title (read-alikes)
- Browsing by categories other than genre
- Browsing by genre
- Finding age-specific book lists
You can also follow this guide for using NoveList for tips.
Journals
These journals merit special mention due to their emphasis on literature for children and young adults.
- CCBC ChoicesCCBC Choices is the annual best-of-the-year list created by professional staff of the Cooperative Children's Book Center of the School of Education at UW-Madison.
- The Horn BookThe Horn Book publishes book reviews of children’s and young adult literature.
- Kirkus ReviewsKirkus Reviews is a book review magazine published on the 1st and 15th of each month. You may access print copies of Kirkus Reviews in the iSchool Library.
- School Library JournalThe School Library Journal is a publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens. SLJ covers literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community. SLJ's website provides comprehensive lists of book reviews for children and young adults.
- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) is a library journal dedicated to the needs of young adult libraries, the advocacy of young adults, and the promotion of young adult literature and reading. The VOYA website contains author interviews, book reviews, and booklists.
Websites
These resources are available for free online and cover a variety of topics related to children's and young adult literature, including information literacy, book award lists, book reviews, and more.
- ALSC Notable Children's Book ListsPublished by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), this website provides a list of each year's most notable children's books.
- BookBrowseThis website provides in-depth reviews and "beyond the book" articles; hand-selected read-alike recommendations for thousands of books and authors; the ability to browse by genre, time period, setting and a wide range of themes; previews of notable books publishing soon; and extensive resources for book clubs.
- The Children’s Book Review: Growing ReadersThe Children’s Book Review publishes reviews and book lists of the best books for kids of all ages. It also produces author and illustrator interviews and shares literacy based articles that help parents, grandparents, teachers and librarians to grow readers.
- Database of Award Winning Children's LiteratureThe website isn't pretty, but this database includes a huge list of international awards in children's literature.
- Diverse BookFinderDiverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC).
- Juvenile Series and SequelsMaintained by Mid-Continent Public Library, this website provides lists of juvenile series and sequels that can be browsed by series title, series author, book title, or book author.
- Kirkus ReviewsKirkus Reviews provides reviews on books for readers of all ages. The website features sections dedicated to reviews of Teens & Young Adult and Children's books.
- Social Justice BooksSocial Justice Books is a project of Teaching for Change. This website includes booklists, reviews, articles, and more to promote the selection of multicultural and social justice books for children and young adults.
- YALSA Book FinderThis database provides access to all of Young Adult Library Services Association's annual selected book and media lists, awards, and honorees. These resources are developed by library staff and educators to support the collection development and readers' advisory work of library staff.
- American Indian Youth Literature Award"Awarded biennially, the AIYLA identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America. Books selected to receive the award present Indigenous North American peoples in the fullness of their humanity. In odd-numbered years, nominations are encouraged in fiction or nonfiction and may include graphic novels; for picture books, the award is for both author and illustrator. Awards are granted in even-numbered years. Authors/illustrators may win the American Indian Youth Literature Award in the categories Best Picture Book, Best Middle Grade Book, and Best Young Adult Book. In addition, up to five awards may be selected as Honors books in each category."
Blogs
- American Indians in Children's LiteratureDebbie Reese's blog includes links to book reviews, Native media, lesson plans, and more. Interesting section on responses to American Indian portrayals in popular fiction like Twilight and Little House on the Prairie.
- Finding WonderlandFinding Wonderland is a blog that ran from 2005 through 2018. Even though the blog is no longer updated, it features over 3,000 reviews of books from over 20 genres.
- Guys Lit WireGuys Lit Wire exists solely to bring literary news and reviews to the attention of teenage boys and the people who care about them. (last post 2018)
- I’m Here. I’m Queer. What the Hell Do I Read?This blog is for teens (queer or not), for librarians, for teachers, for booksellers, for people with teens in their lives and for anyone interested in YA books with GLBTQ characters and themes.
- Reading in ColorThis blog is written by a teen girl and offers reviews and discussion-based posts about YA lit pertaining to people of color. (last post 2016)