Tools for Finding Grants for Your Nonprofit Organization : Find 990s
Nonprofit organizations and sponsored individuals should find the following tools - both print and online - helpful for locating grants for programs and projects in all areas of endeavor. Databases for academic institutions are included.
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Ask a Librarian
990PF Tax Returns
990-PF Tax Returns, Nonprofit Organizations
Tax returns for private and corporate-sponsored foundations can be useful in a variety of ways in determining the suitability of a funding match. For more information on how they can be used, check the tutorial, Demystifying the 990-P, by the staff of the Foundation Center or De-myth-ifying IRS Form 990 at Guidestar.org
- Foundation Directory Online, FreeThis free edition of the Foundation Directory Online allows user to search for grantmakers and provides access to their last three years of tax returns. Anyone may use this site from anywhere.
- Foundation Directory Online Professional: 990 SearchSearch across the entire text of recent IRS Forms 990 for grantmaking organizations by entering criteria in the field labeled "Keyword Search" or narrow your search results by entering additional criteria in the remaining fields. Available in Memorial Library Only
- GuidestarContains descriptions of and financial data on over 860,000 nonprofit organization. Information is compiled from tax returns filed with the Internal Revenue Service, and includes each charity's assets, liabilities, revenue, and expenditures. Provides access to 990-PF tax returns, which itemize grants given by private foundations. Maintained by Philanthropic Research, a nonprofit group in Williamsburg, Virginia.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.