Materials Science Engineering (MSE) : Articles & Databases

Research guide for materials science and engineering topics.

Finding MSE Research Articles

Inspec (Via Web of Knowledge)
Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
Technology Research Database Collection
This comprehensive database provides a single mega-file of all theunique records available through its components: the MaterialsResearch Database with METADEX, High Technology Research Databasewith Aerospace, and the Engineering Research Database. Sourcescovered include over thousands of periodicals, conference proceedings,technical reports, trade literature, patents, and books.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
MRS Advances
MRS Proceedings Archive (1980-2015)
The MRS Proceedings features over 68,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings. The proceedings papers can be viewed sorted by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable.
SciFinder
SciFinder requires an individual SciFinder username and password using an @wisc.edu email address. SciFinder is used to access information in selected Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CAPlus, CARegistry, CAREACTS, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLISTS, plus Medline (1946-present). It permits searching in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier (CAS Registry Number, chemical name), chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction.
Web of Science
The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is an information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. It is searched using the Scirus search engine. (Updates vary)UW-Madison has licensed a subset of Elsevier ejournals and ebooks through Science Direct. This subset includes more than 700 journals and more than 1000 ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. For a list of the titles, go to the Science Direct website at www.sciencedirect.com. Each subscribed journal is also accessible from the campus ejournal pages.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes doctoral dissertations in all subject areas completed at over 700 institutions in the U.S. and around the world. Some masters theses are also included. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Orders for complete dissertations before 1997 may be placed online, but check MadCat first to see if they are owned on campus. Free interlibrary loan may also be a possibility. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Simple citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
ISI Journal Citation Reports
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world’s leading journals.
Delivers quantifiable statistical information based on citation data. Provides a variety of impact and influence metrics, including the Journal Impact Factor and Eigenfactor. Includes rank-in-category tables, journal self-citations, and Impact Factor boxplots.
Scopus
Springer Materials

Publication Alerts

You can receive email alerts or updates via RSS on new publications through library databases and publishers.

Follow publications by an certain author.
Get new research on a topic.
Receive current journal tables of contents.
Find new articles that cite an important article.

A great general-purpose place to start is JournalTOCs. You can search for individual journal titles or browse journal titles by subject (like Chemical Engineering or Energy or Metallurgy.)

Many common engineering databases also allow you to set up search alerts, including:

Web of Science video tutorial on setting up citation alerts so you know when someone has cited your published article.
Web of Science video tutorial on setting up alerts for articles that match your search terms.
SciFinder video tutorial on setting up a "Keep Me Posted" alert for articles that match your search terms.
Google Scholar screenshot of how to set up an alert for articles that match your search terms.

For more information and assistance on setting up alerts, contact a librarian.