- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Water Research Guide
- Databases for Scholarly Articles
Water Research Guide : Databases for Scholarly Articles
Books, journals, databases, and other resources on water, science and the Great Lakes.
Water Databases
The databases listed below provide access to scholarly journal articles and government documents related to water science.
Some resources require a UW-Madison login, while some are open source. For more information about accessing resources as a UW-Madison visitor or guest, go to our Resources for Guests tab on this guide.
- Agricola UWU.S. National Agricultural library indexes 2500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, FAO publications, foreign documents, conference proceedings, books, and audio-visual materials.
- Agriculture and Environmental Science CollectionMultidisciplinary database covers all areas of air, land, water and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries AbstractsIndexes more than 5000 journals, reports, conference proceedings, and books in the area of Aquatic Sciences. Covers major aspects including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography, and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution.
- Engineering VillageMost comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research, containing millions of references and abstracts from over 5000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
- Fish, Fisheries, and Aquatic Biodiversity WorldwideIndexes English language journals, books, conference proceedings, symposia, government reports, theses and dissertations. Covers animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, and propagation.
- GeoRefProduced by the American Geological Institute. Indexes the earth sciences literature of the world. Contains more than 1.9 million references to literature covering North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
- National Library of Medicine ResourcesProduced by the National Library of Medicine. This page covers variety of ways to get access to resources related to the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most citations include abstracts.
- National Technical Information ServiceDescribes US government-sponsored research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. Subjects include biotechnology, environment, materials science, and transportation, etc.
- Oceanic AbstractsFocused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. Long been recognized as leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
- Web of ScienceA combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Indexes more than 8000 peer-reviewed journals, and includes author-supplied abstracts where available.
Water Librarian
Anne Moser
Contact:
Wisconsin Water Library
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608-262-3069
Website
Subjects: Environment / Natural Resources
