This is the "Overview" page of the "Body Image: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Body Image: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, eating_disorders, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/bodyimage Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

Body image is defined as the mental image we form of our bodies, and is a basic component of our concept of self and our personal identity. This Research Guide will assist you in finding information about body image and body image disorders.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Body Image and Your Health  
    Rating
    Government-sponsored Web site promoting women's health. Includes basic information about health topics related to body image: healthy eating, staying active, cosmetic surgery, eating disorders, and teaching children about body image.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Our Bodies, Ourselves: Companion Website  
    Rating
    This website companion to "Our Bodies, Ourselves"--a book about women's health and sexuality--is rich with information about body image, healthy diet and lifestyle, relationships and sexuality, sexual health and reproductive choices.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip