This is the "Overview" page of the "Affirmative Action: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Affirmative Action: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, employment, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 29, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/affirmativeaction Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

Affirmative action refers to a series of steps, legislation, and practices in recruiting, selecting, hiring, and promoting that are designed to overcome the present effects of past discrimination against members of minority groups. In the United States the major minority classifications include age, race, religion, national origin, and sex. This Research Guide provides resources for all sides of the issue.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Ten Myths About Affirmative Action  
    Rating
    Plous, S. (2003). Ten myths about affirmative action. In S. Plous (Ed.), Understanding Prejudice and Discrimination (pp. 206-212). New York: McGraw-Hill.
  • The Affirmative Action and Diversity Project: A Web Page for Research  
    Rating
    The Affirmative Action and Diversity Project, created by Carl Gutierrez-Jones (UC Santa Barbara), pulls together an array of sources to promote research and discussion on the issue. Provides links to other affirmative action pages on the Web.
  • The Origins of Affirmative Action  
    Rating
    Brief historical information from NOW, the National Organization for Women.
  • Washington Post Affirmative Action Special Report  
    Rating
    The Washington Post gives an overview of affirmative action-related news from 1995 to 1998. Includes news reports, opinion pieces, and related websites.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip