Getting Full Text
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (MadCat)
- request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Request a Copy/Library Express)
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Managing your References
Use one of these citation managers to organize your articles and help in the writing process
- RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison. - EndNote
EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication. - Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to learn, but not robust enough to support writing large documents. - Compare RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero

Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most topics...
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- CAB Abstracts
Leading scholarly database covering agriculture and natural resources worldwide.
Search for EE* in CABICODES to limit to economics portion of database - EconLit
Leading scholarly index for economics; covers over 300 English language periodicals and books. - Google Scholar (Advanced)
Interdisciplinary coverage of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some important publishers are not included. - JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Archive of older scholarly journals in many subjects, including ecology, economics and sociology. It does not include articles published in the last 3-5 years. - Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Interdisciplinary database of articles from top scholarly journals. Unique Citation Search feature allows you to find later articles that cite a particular article of interest in their bibliographies
Comments (0)
Agricultural and Life Sciences
- Agricola
Scholarly articles and US government reports about agriculture. For current information, CAB Abstracts is a more comprehensive choice. - Agris
Agricultural database from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; most useful for finding FAO publications. - Biological Abstracts
Largest scholarly database for biology. - E-Answers
Provides access to Extension and outreach publications from land grant universities. - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. - FSTA (Food Science & Technology Abstracts)

Business and Economics
- ABI/Inform
Indexes and abstracts articles from scholarly and trade business periodicals. Popular journals such as Forbes, Fortune, and Business Week are also included. - Mintel Reports
Mintel produces over 600 reports each year, covering different sectors and focusing on topical marketing issues in Europe (especially UK) and the United States. - SocINDEX
Leading sociology database. Includes sub-disciplines such as criminology, demography, ethnic studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, substance abuse
Newspapers and Popular Magazines
Preprints and Working Papers
- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Provides full text reports of scholarly research in the field of agricultural and applied economics. - EconPapers: Economics at your Fingertips
Collection of over 800,000 Economics working papers and journal articles from over 1100 archives operated by research organizations, academic departments and publishers worldwide. It is one view of the data included in RePEc. - Eldis Gateway to Development Information
Gateway to free, online materials of strategic, policy or practical interest on development topics. Includes over 18,000 full text documents from over 4500 different publishers. - SSRN: Social Science Research Network
SSRN includes the Economics Research Network (ERN). It abstracts over 130,000 scholarly social science papers, with full text of over 100,000. Use this link to access both subscription and free content. - TEKTRAN Database
Provides selected pre-publication notices of research results from the Agricultural Research Service of the USDA.
Steenbock Librarian |


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)


Loading...
