Admin Sign In 

AIDS: An Undergraduate Research Guide  Tags: undergraduate_research paper_topic aids college_library  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last update: Oct 01st, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/AIDS  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Overview             Print Page
  
 

Ask A Librarian

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

or click for more options ...

 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful

Research Classes

 
 

About This Guide

This Research Guide covers medical, social, and political aspects of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS). It includes resources that address the symptoms, transmission, and demographics of the disease as well as societal attitudes about it.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • AIDS Basics  
      
    This page was created by the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine. Here you will find answers to common questions about HIV/AIDS.
  • AIDS.gov  
      
    HIV/AIDS information from the Federal government about prevention, testing, treatment, research, and using new media in response to HIV/AIDS.
  • AIDSinfo  
      
    The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services hosts this Web site, providing guidelines for the treatment and prevention of HIV/AIDS, information about drugs and vaccines, clinical trials, and a list of Internet links for further information.
  • Credo Reference  
      
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica Online  
      
    Britannica Online is a searchable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest encyclopedia articles.
  • In Their Own Words  
      
    The National Institute of Health tracks the early years of HIV/AIDS research. The site has a transcripts section where one can find interview transcripts of NIH researchers, an image and document archive, a historical timeline, and other Internet links.
  • The Body  
      
    The Body is an award winning site and a service of Body Health Resources Corporation. Information categories include: AIDS Basics and Prevention, Quality of Life issues, Government policy and advocacy, and a specific section for the recently diagnosed.
  • The HIV Knowledge Base  
      
    The HIV Knowledge Base is a comprehensive, on-line textbook on HIV disease from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and the San Francisco General Hospital (SFGH).
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

 

Friendly Librarian

Profile ImageKelli Keclik
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait